Improv Play

Feather / leaf
It's an experiment. I'm learning things, at least.
Progress.After I finished the triangle quilt, it was time for some fabric play. It’s been a little while since I’ve tried to build something in an improvisational way from start to finish.

I’m a much better quilter in my head than I am in real life. The only way to get better is to practice, and this is part of that process. I’m not quite sure about the overall effectiveness of the layout, but I’m thinking of it as an improv sampler – a few curves here, some crazy piecing over there.

Improv top done

This quilt snippet started with some Marcia Derse fabrics, a thought of Gail Baer’s colorblock quilts for that center section, and some practicing with curves. I think I’ll do some circular quilting to finish it up and see if I can help flatten out the whole thing.
Standard