Books of 2012

Without setting a goal, I read about twice as many books in 2012 as in 2011. Go figure – 3 months off of work plus a definite lack of sleep equals finishing more books! I read the Hunger Games and finished the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogies. I haven’t included crafting books (because there were probably too many to count), cookbooks (I don’t think I read any start to finish) or devotional books. Here’s the list, in case you don’t follow me closely on goodreads:

  1. The Girl Who Played with Fire, Steig Larsson
  2. The Bird Sisters, Rebecca Rasmussen
  3. The Secret Lives of Dresses, Erin McKean
  4. Then She Found Me, Elinor Lipman: so annoying, and they made a movie of it in the 80’s? weird.
  5. The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins: did you know she used to be a writer for Nickelodeon?
  6. Mr. Monk and the Blue Flu, Lee Goldberg: Listened on CD, it was like a super long episode of the show
  7. Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me?, Mindy Kaling
  8. Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins
  9. Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins
  10. Let’s Panic About Babies, Alice Bradley & Eden Kennedy
  11. Whose Body?, Dorothy Sayers
  12. The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, Steig Larsson
  13. Silver Sparrow, Tayari Jones
  14. The Memory Palace, Mira Bartok
  15. Kisses from Katie, Katie Davis: So amazing
  16. A Grown-up Kind of Pretty, Joshilyn Jackson
  17. Bloom, Kelle Hampton
  18. Orange Jumpsuit, Letters to the God of Freedom, Tarah Leigh-Cobble: Read this, seriously
  19. Oddfellow’s Orphanage, Emily Martin: definitely for younger audiences (so pass it on to the 3rd graders in your life!)
  20. Cold Tangerines, Shauna Niequist: I relate to her, makes me want to write more
  21. Miss Scarlet’s School of Patternless Sewing, Kathy Cano-Murillo: light fiction about crafting. why isn’t there more of this?
  22. Bossypants, Tina Fey: may have been Carl’s first book on CD experience
  23. The Glass Castle, Jeannette Walls: reading this and The Memory Palace too close together is a lot on mental illness of mothers
  24. Olive Kitteridge, Elizabeth Stout: v good, not much else to say
  25. Sarah’s Key, Tatiana de Rosney: made it to book club! twice this year!
  26. Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name, Vendela Vida
  27. Caleb’s Crossing, Geraldine Brooks: Fascinating history of Native Americans at Harvard, made me want to know more about the same time period at W&M
  28. Riversong, Tess Thompson
  29. Love Walked In, Maria de los Santos
  30. A Visit from the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan: listened on CD and didn’t actually finish it. I liked some characters a whole lot more than others, but those characters didn’t appear enough
  31. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Mary Ann Shaffer: nice quick read
  32. The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro: not at all what I expected, but a really beautifully written book
  33. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood: a little ironic to read on a digital reader, yes?
  34. Beautiful Ruins, Jess Walters: I didn’t need both storylines in this book. It was about twice as long as it needed to be.
  35.  Cutting for Stone, Abraham Verghese: amazing. I’m afraid to read more of what he’s written, because it may not be as good. Super long, well researched, and well crafted all around.
  36. My Berlin Kitchen, Luisa Weiss: probably best read within the context of her blog, but I enjoyed it
  37. Heart of the Matter, Emily Giffin: ugh. no.
  38. Circle of Quilters, Jennifer Chiaverini: listened on my way to work and wished I could be quilting instead
  39. The Lotus Keeper, K.R. Dial: wannabe Grisham, but an important topic
  40. The 19th Wife, David Ebershoff: good book, but I didn’t really want to be reading about polygamy
What’s on your recommended reading list? I think I’m reading about 6 books right now, and the better the baby sleeps the less I’ll be reading, but I’d still love to hear what you think I should add in 2013!
Standard

3 thoughts on “Books of 2012

  1. What a great list of books. There’s a few there I’ll have to see if I can find at my library. I can’t think of any to suggest, I know that sounds boring but I haven’t read any really stand out books recently.

Leave a Reply

