Christmas Crafting

Christmas cards (bonus craft! we made these in MOPS)

I need to record all of the crafty things I made for Christmas that I couldn’t share on my blog before they were opened! I put most of them on instagram as I went since the recipients don’t check that, but I didn’t usually get better pictures before they were gifted. This year was fun because of all the babies to sew for!
baby blocks
I wanted to make blocks for the babies using these silky & textured Riley Blake fabrics I bought last summer. I have enough left to make some blankets for gifts, too. They were a lot more difficult to make than I thought they’d be and they’re pretty lumpy. I probably should have interfaced the silky sides and made them a little smaller so I could have stuffed them more firmly. I still need to sew closed the set of these for Becca.
baby pants
I also made E some pants from Made by Rae’s big butt baby pant pattern in a trailer print because I knew Shannon would like that. The plaid goes in the back (I guess I should have included a tag!). Bonus – now I have the pattern printed in the 6 mo size so I can make some for Becca, too.
Matching dresses for Becca and her cousin
These dresses (Oliver & S knit hopscotch dresses) were the most time-consuming thing I took on this Christmas. I made them matching for the two girls in the 6 month size, even though they probably won’t get a chance to wear them together. I love how they look finished, even with a few imperfections. The fabric is a modkid interlock stripe. I cut out a shirt for Becca too before I put the pattern away, so hopefully that will get sewn soon.
Napper.
I also made a few baby headbands – I’ve been making them like crazy from these tutorials and using my Sizzix.
Mom requested a yellow toaster cover
My mom requested a yellow toaster cover – it was a pretty specific request on her list (maybe Meagan can make one!) so I took on the challenge. This is the kind of project that justifies a big stash (in my mind) – step 1: pick a pretty yellow fabric, step 2: realize that fussy cutting means you’re going to need more than a 1/2 yard, step 3: pick another piece of fabric a few years old that’s almost exactly the same shade of yellow. This would have turned out better if I had made piping to go around the corners (and maybe interfaced? I just don’t like to!), but it should do the trick. It was good that I double checked the measurements with my dad before I cut my quilted panels because otherwise it would have been too small for sure.
I'm a super awkward jewelry crafter, but this will have to do for my mom's gift (grandkid's initials)
I had these frame charms for awhile from pickyourplum knowing that they’d make a cute Grandma necklace, but not knowing exactly how to do that. I used diamond glaze on scrapbook paper, but the first batch were ruined because I didn’t coat the paper with gel medium first. I bought the rose charms from this etsy shop and a chain from JoAnns. Jewelry making feels really awkward for me – I buy beads and things and then get a huge mental block about how they should be combined, and never seem to have the right findings to make everything come together. Hopefully it doesn’t fall apart too quickly.
Fabric stack. We'll see how this one works out.
Slowly trimming dog ears
I started cutting fabric for a quilt for my brother, too, but it was taking a long time so I have permission from him to delay! I still may end up simplifying the design – it’s going to be a triangle quilt so maybe I just won’t make the triangles go all the way to the edges of the rows.

Standard

One thought on “Christmas Crafting

  1. I love those matchy dresses. So smart to make them in an interlock fabric. I wish my daughter would actually wear the dresses I make her. Boo.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I agree with you when you wrote that “gifts need to be something the recipient wants to receive.” I am trying to merge that belief with another belief which is that I also have to follow my own voice when I am making stuff. Otherwise I feel like I will get totally burned out! We will see how it goes!

    Your blog is lovely.

Leave a Reply

