Basics Miscellany Block

One of my favorite lines of fabric to come out this year was Julia Rothman’s Miscellany by Cloud 9 fabrics. I love Julia’s illustrations, and they translated great to fabric. They’re especially distinctive compared to everything else on the market. I was excited to see the contest that Pat and Victoria were hosting for blocks to be made from this fabric that would go into a charity quilt through Basics. I got to brainstorming what I would do if I got to participate, and ended up buying a fat quarter stack – and then learned that I was being given a piece of each fabric in the line to make a block with! It was fun, though, because I’ll probably design a whole quilt with these fabrics much differently than one 12″ block.

My first thought was something based on the endless knot design with bias tape on top, but I couldn’t come up with anything that flowed. Then I was going to do something with curves, but when I saw Dan’s name on the list of participants and remembered that I’ve never really sewn curves in a block before, I decided he probably had it covered (which he did! He sewed an awesome block with curves!). I didn’t want to do anything too improv-based, either, because there wasn’t a lot of extra fabric and I wanted to make sure that I’d end up with something I was happy with. Here’s my block:
DSC_0863-1I paper-pieced the triangles in four rows and sewed them together. It was actually fun measuring out and making the paper piecing pattern (I used wrapping paper because it was lightweight and I needed lengths of 12″ which is longer than regular paper). I should have made one practice run, though, because I didn’t cut the pieces big enough for the first row I made (the second row in the block) so the points weren’t quite covered. I love the accuracy that this method gives! I should try it on some trickier designs next.

I’m excited to see everyone else’s block and see who wins! I saw this one earlier today – such a creative use of these prints, and not something that ever would have occurred to me, but it’s really great too.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Basics Miscellany Block

  1. I thought I’d take a few minutes and visit those of us who received the Cloud 9 fabrics and it has been so interesting to see the different block designs that we all made from the fabrics. Each block is sooooooo unique!! I was surprised when at the end of your post, when you mentioned a block that you’d seen that was a creative use of the fabrics…..and it was my block. Thank you! It was very “out-of-the-box” for me but I saw those Row Houses almost from the moment I saw the fabric. 🙂 It will be fun to see who wins but even more fun to see the final quilt and know that it will make someone smile!

Leave a Reply

