Pennants and Pinterest

housetohome.co.uk

You know what trend is really overdone in the crafty world right now? Pennants. And yet this is my inspiration photo for the bonus room, and I’ll probably make a pennant string for somewhere in the space, although I’m looking at the palest shades of yellow imaginable. And we’ll all be sharing the space, hopefully, instead of having it just as a playroom. I’m thinking we’ll hang up the flags we own (and maybe buy a couple more to round out the collection), hang this up as curtains, and do some kind of bright polka dots like these but maybe cut out of felt and adhered with sticky backed velcro so they can be played with. I’ll report back if that turns out to be genius or the worst idea ever. (And can I just say that it confuses me to have that website be whatisblik.com – I type thisisblik.com every time).

I’m keeping track of the pictures I like for decorating, and a whole lot of other things, over on pinterest. Check out my boards here.  Also, if you want to join let me know – it says invite only but I requested an account and it only took a couple days to get added. I didn’t sign up at first because I didn’t know why I’d need a visual bookmarking tool because I don’t think of myself as being super visual, but it turns out it’s the handiest way to bookmark there is, and I get annoyed when sites don’t have pictures because they can’t go on my pinterest. Also, the community aspect is really straightforward – it’s kind of what I hoped tumblr would be, but wasn’t, even if sometimes it feels like the same images are getting recycled on everyone’s boards. I make an effort to add new things and not just repin all the time, so there’s fresh stuff floating around. And remember to pin from the most specific post page you can find so the author/stylist/photographer is really credited (ie don’t pull from a site that’s already aggregating content so I have to click through 5 pages to see where it really came from).

Standard

Leave a Reply

