Quilt from Great-Grandma Jeske

My grandma made Will a quilt, too. At least some of these fabrics are from a fat quarter set my dad gave her for Christmas one year. Perfect for a little boy!

The middle of the squares have teddy bear prints.

The back has a bug print, and a wide pieced binding.

So far I’m the only one of the grandkids who has carried on the tradition of sewing and quilting (that I know of – I don’t keep up too much with my cousins on that side of the family). I’ve never lived close to her, but it’s funny the things that are somehow “in my blood” that I have this desire to do. I learned sewing and crafts from my mom, my aunts, and a lot of surrogate family members growing up, but I think there’s a family heritage here that I’m carrying on. I have a few blankets and quilts that she’s made for me over the years, and it’s pretty special that now Will has something of his own, too.

Standard

Leave a Reply

