Less thinking, more doing

I tend to overthink things. Lately I think of a lot of blog posts, but I think of reasons not to write them. I don’t want this blog to be an obligation, but I also think I have the potential to be a real blogger if I could just sit down and write things on a regular basis. Getting myself organized enough to take and post pictures on a schedule is probably the biggest hurdle for me. Last week I uploaded a bunch, though, and this one has sat on flickr without me writing anything. (I have the other issue now too of writing things on my pregnancy blog, but not having crafty things to write – I may need to figure out how to just combine them already). I have a bunch of things that are either in progress or like this that are done and ready to post, but the 3rd trimester tiredness means that I get home every night from work ready for a nap and to put my feet up, not use a sewing machine or tempt carpal tunnel by using the sewing machine or hand-stitching. I have big hopes for the weekend, but I’m also trying not to get my expectations up because I may also need to rest. Even if I don’t have the chance to make a lot of things, I’d like to keep writing about all the stuff I’m thinking about crafts and creating, and to find ways to fit that into my current schedule. We’ll see how likely that is 🙂

So this pillow…I’m still not really sure what to say. I made the front about a year ago when I was making some things for my shop and wanted to do some playing. I cut out motifs from fabric (inspired by Bari J’s quilts) and put them down on fusible web onto a blue linen background. I did some free motion quilting all over the same thing, made a pillow back with a zipper, stitched on some binding, and let it sit for 9 months before I finished it off. It’s a little too time-consuming to make a lot of these for the shop, not the style of my house, and I’m not sure who would like it for a gift. Maybe if I ever do a craft show I’ll take it along. I think it’s fun that the flowers and leaves are from different fabric lines but still work together to make a pretty little garden.

Standard

One thought on “Less thinking, more doing

Leave a Reply

