Craft Novels

Here’s the point that it’s gotten to: even when I don’t have the energy to craft, I’m reading novels that have crafting as a major plot point. These are a couple I’ve finished recently:

The Aloha Quilt, by Jennifer Chiaverini. This is the most recent in a series of books about a quilt guild in PA called the Elm Creek Quilters, and I saw it pop up on audiobook at the library. I got frustrated with it as an audiobook because it went too slowly, so I returned it and exchanged it for a book that I could read as quickly as I wanted, because it’s pretty light fare. It’s definitely aimed more for the median-aged quilter (who is 59 years old, as I recently read in Quiltmania). I enjoyed the material about Hawaiian quilts, though, so it was pretty enjoyable overall.

Leaving Gee’s Bend, by Irene Latham. This was in the young adult section of my library, but it sets a good historical context for the Quilts of Gee’s Bend that have been touring so many art exhibits over the last few years. It’s weird to think of how they’ve become a commerialized product after reading this story about the hard knock life of sharecroppers in that community in Alabama in the 1930’s. It was a pretty heart-breaking story at times, but I enjoyed what it has to add to the beauty of the quilts.

I also read Kathy Cano-Murillo’s (the Crafty Chica) novel Waking up in the Land of Glitter this summer, which was super fun – chick lit about girls who have crafty ideals is right up my alley! I just worried that I was identifying with the characters too much, so it was good to read in the back that Kathy sees herself a little bit in each of them, too.

Standard

One thought on “Craft Novels

  1. Thank you for sharing! I just finished the Aloha Quilt, and enjoyed reading about the quilt traditions of Hawaii. I will look for the Gee’s Bend novel.

    ; )

Leave a Reply

