Embellished shirt

One of my chores this weekend was to make my way through a huge pile of mending. Well really it’s part of my roundabout approach to cleaning – I want to clean up the crafting corner of our bedroom, but don’t want to leave all of those half-finished projects just sitting there, and the overflowing mending basket was a big portion of the mess in that corner since it couldn’t fit back on the shelf anymore. That and Carl tried on all of his clothes this weekend to see what still fit and there were three shirts that needed buttons, so I figured it was time to tackle the problem.

As a reward for tackling the pile and because I was changing out the thread on my machine frequently for all of the holes that needed darning, I took some time to get crafty with a couple of my maternity shirts. When I bought this top at Old Navy for $5 I thought I might want it to be a little more fun, but I decided to wear it a couple times to make sure I didn’t want it to be plain to make it more versatile for matching with other things, but it turns out a bright purple t-shirt isn’t really something I’m going to wear to work anyway, and it could handle the spicing up. In the meantime, I discovered Alisa Burke’s blog and this project totally got me inspired to get going on the shirt.

The big flowers are cut from one fabric (the selvage said Alexander Henry 2006) and the small flowers from another (which only said “yen” on the portion of the selvage I have). I was going to go simple and only do the top three flowers, but wouldn’t you know that in the first couple times wearing the shirt, I managed to drip some oil on my belly that stained the shirt, so Carl agreed that while I was embellishing I might as well cover it up. This free motion stitching was so much fun to do! I did a second project while I was at it, that I’ll try to show when I wear it – I’m not sure if it’s the most flattering maternity look, though. I was tempted to add beads and I love Alisa’s paints, so it’s definitely an idea that’s still floating around for further fun play.

Standard

Leave a Reply

