Green jacket

So along with needing maternity clothes, at the beginning of May I started working for a company with a slightly more formal dress code, or “corporate culture”. I work in an office surrounded by people in khakis and polo shirts, and jeans on Friday, but the guys from my company tend to wear suits, or at least shirt and tie. I’m the only woman from my company on my job site, so I don’t have any others to go by, but I feel like I need to make an effort to dress up more.

I don’t think the only way to do business professional is in a tailored suit, especially if you’ve seen the choices out there for maternity suits! I prefer a dress or a jacket with a dress, and dressy combinations including skirts or pants making appearances too. With it being far too hot to even consider cardigans now, though, I could use a few more jackets.

This one, Butterick 5332 was super simple to put together, so much so that even by overthinking I couldn’t mess it up too much. I made a size 14, which buttons (for now) over my changing figure, but allows room for the belly to poke out more and more. I was so glad it was finished and fit that I wore it right away, because I can’t predict how anything will fit from one day to the next. Of course it didn’t really give me something that dressy when I’ve paired it with a denim skirt, and it’s a fairly casual fabric, but it still helps stretch the wardrobe a little bit. I’d think about fixing those pulls near the armpits if I knew this would still fit when my figure goes back to “normal” whatever my new normal turns out to be!

This fabric is pique (a little more lime green than in this photo) and came from Paula a long time ago when she was clearing out some scraps – I have no idea what it was for, though, because it was oddly cut into 25″ squares. Thankfully, all of these pattern pieces fit, and I had a square leftover to re-cut a piece that had a stain on it. I should take a close-up picture of the buttons I found in my stash, because they’re pretty unique too.

Pattern review here.

Standard

One thought on “Green jacket

Leave a Reply

