Best of 2009, numbers 1-6

I loved Gwen Bell’s blog challenge when I saw it, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up with it daily – both because I don’t write daily and because I don’t have answers for all of the questions. So I grouped them into a bunch of draft posts and I’m trying to get going on the first group. It’s such a great way to look back on the year, think of all of the best things in big and small ways, especially when the year’s challenges so easily become the things we focus on. This was a challenging year, but also good in so many ways.

December 1 Trip. What was your best trip in 2009?

Our best trip of 2009 was hands down our honeymoon in the Bahamas. Very seldomly do we get a chance to unwind and relax for a week straight, with no obligations of any kind. It’s not that I don’t enjoy visiting family and friends on vacations, but it was great to have a trip that was just for us. There are a couple stories from that trip that really deserve posts of their own, so I’m going to leave them for a later date.

December 2 Restaurant moment. Share the best restaurant experience you had this year. Who was there? What made it amazing? What taste stands out in your mind?

For best restaurant moment, I’d have to either choose the Chicken’s Nest on Grand Bahama Island (which is one of the future posts, so I’ll talk about it then) or my birthday dinner at a small restaurant here in town. Both of these were small dining rooms and included a visit with the chef, which is part of what made them both special treats.

December 4 Book. What book – fiction or non – touched you? Where were you when you read it? Have you bought and given away multiple copies?

I think my favorite read this year was Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life. She’s a wonderful blogger, and it’s a book that is on my Amazon wishlist even though I borrowed it from the library to read it. I didn’t have a chance to make any of the recipes, and I’d love to have it around so I could give them a try.

December 5 Night out. Did you have a night out with friends or a loved one that rocked your world? Who was there? What was the highlight of the night?

I think my sister’s bachelorette party was one of the most fun nights out this year. We took Bananagrams and Ruckus with us to a chocolate shop and ate fondue while we played games in the cafe. One of the things that made it fun was that there was a local chef’s night out downtown that night, so the restaurant was hopping with people coming in and out for the tastings, and they gave the place a fun vibe. It didn’t hurt that Bananagrams is a game I can win, since I Ruckus is not usually my forte.

So far I’m drawing a blank on a great article (maybe you want to share one with me?), and a workshop or conference (I’m not sure if I went to any this year…).

Standard

Leave a Reply

