Grateful week 3

Oops! Meant to post this last week, but somehow loading pictures got away from me. I’m thankful for our mini kitchen remodel, which so far has added a pantry cupboard found on craigslist and taken down the table in the kitchen (which let’s face it, we never sat down at because it was such a tight squeeze) and reorganized things in cabinets and on shelves. In my mind I’m a fan of the un-cluttered look and would love if we didn’t have anything on open shelves or out on counters, but it’s not yet meant to be. At least now I have a space for my potatoes besides out on the counter where hopefully they won’t sprout and turn green too quickly, and a new sunny spot for the houseplants under the window so they can survive the winter. Nothing too fancy, just a place for what’s what. Now if we could figure out a solution for the pesky termites gracing our lives, we might have ourselves a solid place to live!

I’m trying to stay hopeful about all of these plants, too. I’m good at the ones that work well in shady areas without too much water, but would like to add more succulents and the one there on the bottom shelf hasn’t done too much. It may not have enough drainage, though. The lemon tree on the bottom one doesn’t have leaves, but we’re saying it’s “gone dormant” for the winter. Um, right. I’ve had it for a couple years and it did produce one lemon, so it may be time to call it quits and say Virginia isn’t the right climate for lemons, especially ones that live indoors 1/3 of the year. But I’ll keep trying a little bit longer.

I’ve been keeping the sewing machine busy lately, so I have lots of things to share that I’ll try to spread out over the next couple days (the first few are on flickr already), and I’m working on a shop update for tomorrow!

Standard

One thought on “Grateful week 3

Leave a Reply

