Bloggers’ Quilt Festival

parkcitygirl.blogspot.comI was hoping to have a more impressive, newer quilt to share for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, or at least the T-shirt quilt I finished last night, but alas no pictures of that. That’s all right, because I haven’t yet written about the first quilt that I completed from start to finish.

It’s funny, because in my mind I’m quite the quilter, and by looking at my shopping habits and stash building habits over the last couple of years you’d likely think the same. But it wasn’t until April of this year that I made my first quilt from start to finish (I had pieced and quilted another, but never put the binding on it). Since this one was a gift, there was a little more of a deadline on it. My friend, the recipient’s mom, is a big fan of toile, so I knew I wanted to make a quilt out of this fabric before she even got pregnant. Amazingly, I limited myself to a charm pack, which worked fine for this size quilt. The solid green is Amy Butler “linen”, which I really fell in love with. I free-motion quilted it in loop-de-loops. They’re far from perfect with quite a few skipped stitches, but I’m sure that’ll get better and easier with each quilt I make (although I’ve been using my walking foot quite a bit lately). I used a panel of the Michael Miller baby toile print on the back.

Go to the Quilt Festival post on the Park City Girl blog to see everyone else’s beautiful quilts!

Standard

10 thoughts on “Bloggers’ Quilt Festival

  1. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Fall 2009 » Amy's Creative Side

  2. Pingback: Quilt Festival – Fall 2009 » Amy's Creative Side

Leave a Reply

