Google Map Quilting

Wouldn’t these satellite images of the midwest make the coolest quilts? They look like something you’d see at a Japanese Quilt Festival.

You hear people talk about the “patchwork” of fields & agriculture, but it’s different to see it this way.

I think some of it is because the images are taken in different seasons.

I don’t know if I have the patience it would take to actually make a quilt from one – I think I’d get tired of the color scheme, but I guess there’s some artistic license that could be taken to make it visually stimulating in a different way. Interesting that while I was thinking about this today Skinny La Minx posted about this artist.

Standard

One thought on “Google Map Quilting

  1. Carole says:

    Not sure how I found your blog but I am glad I did. I am not usually drawn to the artistic quilts, kinda find myself to be more traditional in my pattern choices. BUT, your satelite image idea is brilliant! I am always amazed at how square some farm plots appear and this would be such a neat piece. Thanks for sharing some great ideas/thoughts!

Leave a Reply

