Blogging

Ah, blogging. So here’s a little history since I’m trying to get back in the habit of blogging and don’t want to do it without taking it seriously and posting regularly. What am I doing my first day blogging? Writing multiple posts to publish throughout the week so at least I’m off to a good start.

I started reading blogs about four years ago while I was sitting at a job where I had absolutely nothing to do most of the time. I discovered She Walks from a Best of Craigslist link and went “whoa, blogging”. I followed links around to find good writers (and started reading Dooce, This Fish, and Suburban Bliss to name a few), and established a little routine of which order I would check them in throughout the day. I think around 11 am I’d check the West Coast ones to see if they’d posted anything. No bloglines or google reader, apparently.

Crazy Aunt Purl  was the first crafty blogger I read, which I don’t remember jumping out at first, but I would occasionally read knit/crochet blogs because of her even though I’ve never really gotten into either craft. It’s kind of odd, because I also remember reading Super Chef and the Amateur Gourmet quite a bit too, even though neither has much relevance to me. At the time I started a xanga blog because my brother was on it with his college friends, and I’d write in a “what I did today” kind of style and posted the results of quizzes that we use facebook for today. When I traveled by myself I thought in terms of blog posts and in the voice of writers I was reading at the time, even though for the most part those posts never got written.

Then in the spring about three years ago, I started looking for a pattern for a stuffed elephant to give to a friend who just had a baby. All of a sudden the world of craft blogging opened up, and there were these memes that everyone seemed to be doing all at the same time. Not too much later I got a digital camera so I could start participating and posting on flickr myself. I made some of Hillary’s bunnies but didn’t take a picture, missed the bonnet mailorder but made sure to subscribe for the rest (and eventually ordered and made that pattern), bought a thumbwar print from the small object, and am still in awe of Alicia’s writing.

It turned out to not be such good timing for my craft hobby to kick in right as I was going back to school and while I still was involved on flickr to some extent, I wrote papers instead of blog posts. Then I started dating my now husband, and didn’t need to write about my day to the internet anymore, I had someone to talk to instead.

Things have changed on the internet in the last four years, though. I have a google reader to manage my 500 blog subscriptions. My interests  in crafting have gone from softies, stuffies and embroidery to more sewing of my own clothes and quilting. I appreciate so much the advice that others have shared about what they make and feel badly that I haven’t given back. But I’ve also debated what exactly my new blog should be. I don’t want it to be just about promoting my etsy shop, but definitely wouldn’t mind expanding my crafty business so my fabric-buying habits can be self-supporting. I don’t see it as just being about fashion sewing because I can’t stay on one subject, but a lot of people won’t understand the posts that are about sewing clothes. I’d love to have some posts that are political, some that are about shopping and style, some recipes (although my kitchen lighting makes for the worst food photos) and some about travel, but I’ve decided not to worry about the theme of my blog and just start writing. Hopefully I’ll keep at it enough that I can justify registering my own domain and fixing it up to look like I want it to, too!

I’ll keep telling you who I’m reading and posting good posts, too, because I think good writing is good writing, even if their blogs & lives don’t fit in the same category as mine – those mommybloggers come up with good stuff! I plan on taking advantage of the tools of blogging, too. The only way I’ll be able to blog on a regular basis is to write more than one post on a day when I’ve got photos uploaded and ready to go, and then schedule them to post later. If that feels inauthentic, I’ll change as I go. So, are we ready now? This should be fun!

Standard

One thought on “Blogging

  1. Hello! I have come over from Twitter via Etsy to see your bloghome. 🙂 I’d started three other blogs before the current one, each of which fizzled out after a few months without commitment to regular posting. You look like you’ve gotten a great start here! Your quilts look great. I’ll add your blog to my google reader and blog roll. Look forward to seeing what you make!

Leave a Reply

