Books I Read in 2013

This is just about the only kind of year-end wrap-up I can handle, but I enjoyed the conversations that this list started with people last year and realized that even in my book club (which I kind of read along with but attend infrequently) that it was nice to talk about the other reading we had done. Most of these books were read while rocking Becca in the night or listened to while driving. 27 is a good number though – over 2 a month! Even though I was reading Ender’s Game forever. This list doesn’t include books read for small group, or cookbooks or craft books.

  1. The Union Quilters: An Elm Creek Quilts Novel, by Jennifer Chiaverini – only read this if you like quilting, and history, but then it’s good
  2. The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak – read for book club and then didn’t go
  3. A Year of Biblical Womanhood, by Rachel Held Evans
  4. Plainsong, by Kent Haruf
  5. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell – meh.
  6. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky – I read it because there was a movie, and I didn’t enjoy it enough to watch the movie after. Just didn’t resonate with my HS experience, I guess.
  7. In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad #1), Tana French – Read (or listen to) this (and the other 3). So good. I enjoyed listening for the accents, but I would have enjoyed reading so I could have gotten to the end faster.
  8. Help Thanks Way: Three Essential Prayers, by Anne Lamott
  9. This is Where I Leave You, by Jonathan Tropper
  10. Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised our Nation, by Cokie Roberts
  11. The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad #2), Tana French
  12. The Balloonist, by MacDonald Harris
  13. Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes, by Shauna Niequist (not as good as Bittersweet, only moderately enjoyed)
  14. Sparkly Green Earrings, by Melanie Shankle – this is when I realized I should stop reading books by bloggers, especially based on recommendations from other bloggers who were their friends.
  15. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald – finally!
  16. The Sirens Sang of Murder, by Sarah Caudwell
  17. Friday Nights, by Joanna Trollope
  18. Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad #3), Tana French
  19. Prayers for Sale, by Sandra Dallas – another quilting novel
  20. Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card – I got bored.
  21. Broken Harbour (Dublin Murder #4), Tana French
  22. The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green – Read it. Hopefully you already have.
  23. Sharp Knives, Boiling Oil: My Year of Dangerous Cooking with Four-Year-Olds, by Kim Foster (kindle only)
  24. With Friends Like These, by Sally Koslow
  25. The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein – really sweet, and of course I pretended I was learning all about Trigger’s thought processes
  26. Where’d You Go, Bernadette, by Maria Semple – There’s a reason it’s on everyone’s lists. It’s really charming and a good read.
  27. Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman – not like anything else on the list, but a change in genre is fun!
Standard

One thought on “Books I Read in 2013

  1. I just wanted to drop by and say a big thanks for reading “Sharp Knives, Boiling Oil”. I so appreciate that you read it and included it here. And I love thinking of you rocking your girl and reading books. Perfect.

    Also, your clothes are gorgeous. You are a talent! xo

Leave a Reply

